Indians continue to pursue Jason Bay

We’ve mentioned this before, but it seems that talks are heating up at the winter meetings between the Indians and the Pittsburgh Pirates. The names involved for the Indians are Cliff Lee and Kelly Shoppach. This report is from MLB.com. Here is one from ESPN.com (scroll down to 3:09).

As I said previously, I would give up Lee and Shoppach for Bay. He is certainly worth that type of investment. If that deal is made I wonder what might happen to the surplus of outfielders we have? Certainly there would be no need for Nixon, Michaels, Gutierrez and Francisco. I would assume that Franklin has the upper hand for the RF job. Perhaps you keep Michaels around for his experience? I would say that Nixon and his salary would be more likely to be released. Ben Francisco would probably start the season at Buffalo. Here’s hoping Shapiro can get this deal done. Maybe he throws Michaels in the deal and gets a prospect in return? Keep an eye on this one.

1 Comment

Filed under baseball, Cleveland Indians, Indians, Mark Shapiro, Sports, trade talk

One response to “Indians continue to pursue Jason Bay

  1. I agree. I would also do this deal. Sure, losing Shoppach costs us a little flexibility with Victor, but to get back a solid outfielder like Bay is well worth the cost in flexibility.

Leave a comment